Hugh Smith Community Service Award

This award was established in 1997 to recognize a Puget Sound area public relations professional who has demonstrated outstanding citizenship by contributing his/her public relations expertise to an important community issue and/or nonprofit organization(s). Winners are not required to be PRSA members. The award was presented posthumously to Hugh Smith, APR, PRSA Fellow, at the 1997 Holiday Gala.

Nominations are received all year long, and the deadline is Friday, September 28, 2018. Download the Nomination Form and send to Jacque Coe.

 2018 Hugh Smith Award Nomination Form

2018 Winner

Annie Kuo

Past Award Winners

1997   Hugh Smith (presented posthumously)
1998   Neil McReynolds
1999   Patricia Fearey, APR
2000   Alice Collingwood, APR
2002   C. David Hughbanks
2003   Not awarded
2004   Cheri Brennan, APR
2005   Vivian Phillips
2007   Catherine Hinrichsen, APR
2008   Brandie Ahlgren
2009   Erika Schmidt, APR
2010   Martha Monfried
2011   R. Danner Graves, APR, Fellow PRSA
2012   David Blandford, APR
2013   Not Awarded
2014   Katherine Boury
2015   Derek Wing
2016   Not Awarded
2017   Peg Witham (posthumously)

2018  Annie Kuo


Chapter Contacts

Chapter President
Jacque Coe, APR
Jacque Coe LLC
(425) 351-0082

Administrative Office
or (206) 623-8632

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.



If you are ready to invest in yourself and your career join PRSA today!


Join Us

It is PRSA’s mission to make communications professionals smarter, better prepared and more connected through all stages of their careers. If you are ready to invest in yourself and your career join PRSA today!